Home invasion in Michigan is a serious criminal charge. If you are convicted, there is a high likelihood that you will be sentenced to time in prison. If you have been charged with home invasion in Michigan, it is critical that you work with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
These cases are difficult to defend. But Michigan home invasion defense attorney Robert Elmen can challenge the allegations against you and help you stay out of jail and avoid the damaging consequences of a home invasion conviction.
Michigan recognizes three degrees of home invasion. All are felonies, punishable by between 5 and 20 years in prison and fines between $2,000 and $5,000.
Home invasion is the crime of breaking and entering a dwelling. To be convicted, you must have used force to enter the building. Force includes actions such as breaking a door or a window, but can also include something as minor as opening a door or a window, even if it was unlocked or even not fully closed.
You can also be charged with home invasion if you entered a home under fraudulent pretenses.
The severity of a home invasion charge will depend on what allegedly occurred while you were inside the building.
You can be charged with first-degree home invasion for breaking and entering a dwelling with intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault; entering a dwelling without permission with intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault; breaking and entering a dwelling without permission and committing a felony, larceny, or assault while inside the building while armed with a dangerous weapon or if another person is lawfully present in the building.
Second-degree home invasion occurs when you break and enter a dwelling with intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault in the dwelling; enter a dwelling without permission with intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault; break and enter a dwelling without permission and commit a felony, larceny, or assault while inside the building.
The primary difference between first-degree home invasion and second-degree home invasion is that in the latter the person charged with committing the crime was not armed with a deadly weapon and no other person was lawfully present in the building.
If you break and enter a dwelling with intent to commit a misdemeanor or commit a misdemeanor while breaking and entering, you can be charged with third-degree home invasion.
You can also face charges of third-degree home invasion if you break and enter a dwelling and doing so violates a term of your probation or parole, a personal protection order, or a condition of bail or pretrial release.
If you have been charged with home invasion in Michigan, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side.
A successful defense against these charges requires an attorney who will meticulously investigate and evaluate every detail of your case. When you hire Elmen Legal, know that I will analyze every element of your case, challenge the evidence against you, and fight to have the charges dismissed.
When I take on a case, I work hard to take care of my clients as individuals, not just another client. I will advise you on how the law applies to your unique situation, explain the potential consequences of a conviction, and fight for the best result I can achieve.
If you were charged with home invasion in Michigan, I can help. I will shoulder some of the emotional burden of being charged with a crime and will help you decide the best course of action to take.
As the founder of Elmen Legal, I proudly represent people in Ann Arbor, Saline, Pittsfield Township, Chelsea, or Ypsilanti, in Washtenaw, Wayne, Monroe, Lenawee, Hillsdale, Jackson, Ingham, Livingston, and Oakland Counties.
© 2021 Elmen Legal, PLLC — Ann Arbor, Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney